About Us

Mission Statement
The North Carolina League of Transportation and Logistics is an effective vehicle to organize shippers and receivers of freight in order to: network, take common action, stimulate public interest and promote the well being of the transportation infrastructure. The League promotes close relationships with providers of transportation services, cooperates with government entities on matters of mutual interest, lobbies its positions when appropriate and promotes transportation education.

A Chairman of the Board of Governors, President, Vice President and 20 Board of Governors govern the League. The Board of Governors is elected each year and is based on 10% of the Membership on the date of the Spring meeting each year. The maximum number of Board of Governors is 21. Officers serve two-year terms.  


The League holds a Spring and Fall meeting each year, a Scholarship Golf Outing, and an Annual Conference each June. The dates for all upcoming events are on the homepage on this website and a summary of all events appear at the bottom of the page.

Origin of the League
In the 1920's, there was a very pronounced instability in rates and in transportation services in the United States. It was most notable in the southern states.

A group of businessmen and other concerned individuals met in early 1929 and decided to organize the North Carolina Traffic League. The League was funded as a non-profit organization with $500 from Mr. Julius Cone of Cone Mills, Greensboro, N.C. The League was chartered during the term of North Carolina Governor O. Max Gardner in August 1929. It was chartered as a shipper-only organization and included ports and trade organizations.

The North Carolina Traffic League, Inc. changed its name to the North Carolina League of Transportation and Logistics. 

In its earlier years, League officers would attend rate hearings in Raleigh. Sometimes they would protest what the League felt to be unfair rate increase proposals before the North Carolina Public Utilities Commission. Many proposed rate increases were amended or denied by the Commission resulting in millions of dollars in savings to the North Carolina shipping public. The League has also lobbied for better roads, highways and ports and was very instrumental in bringing fifty-three-foot trailers to North Carolina highways in 1989.

In recent years, the League strongly and successfully lobbied against the tolling of existing North Carolina roads and bridges.

In the late 1980’s, the League began to work more closely with carriers about proposed new routes and rate increases. This began a very successful and cordial relationship with carriers that culminated in a vote of the membership in 1990 that allowed carriers to become “supporting” members. Carriers now have representation in the League with a Carrier Advisory Committee. The Committee holds a seat on the Board of Governors.

In 1994, the League and major carriers of North Carolina participated in a joint filing to comply with the federal mandate that eventually deregulated most intrastate rates and routes.

Additionally, the League awards transportation scholarships to deserving college students and support's charitable organizations. The past 2 donation's have gone to the Military Order of the Purple Heart an organization that helps local veterans as well as The Wounded Warrior Project and Loaves & Fishes an organization that collects and supplies food and groceries to people in crisis.
Board of Governors & Officers

Sherry Ennis


Dana Hall
Kevin Perry
Co Executive Director
Mark Andrews
Co Executive Director


Chairperson - Sherry Ennis, Vontier Business Services

President - Dana Hall, Transplace

Vice President - Eric Brotherton, OMG, Inc.

Co Executive Director - Kevin Perry, The Domestic Transportation Consultant
Co Executive Director - Mark Andrews, Cargo Integrated Logistics


Board of Governors

Justin Reitz - RCS Logistics
Dave Danner -
Ascend Transport Group
Bob Stone - Right Freight Solutions
Steve Wolfe - Stone & Leigh, LLC

Tom Turner - Atlantic-Pacific Express, Inc.

Mack Leonard - Alliance Shippers

Tom Guthrie - NC Ports Authority

Bill Vaughn - Retired

Charles Edwards - UNC - Chapel Hill
Chase Baldwin - Charlotte Pipe
Robert Braunstein - West Marine
Billy Blong - CH Robinson 
Dr. Dinesh Dave - Appalachian State University
Robbie Austin - T-Mobile
Kevin Perry - The Domestic Transportation Consultant

Mike Redden - Southeastern Freight Lines
Stephen Rose  - FFE Transportation


| home | about us | contact us | members forum | members only |
| photos | sponsors | pay online | join or renew | other resources